Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Gentleman's Guide, Marie Antoinette Head CT Critics Circle Award Winners

David Greenspan and Marin Ireland in Marie Antoinette. Photo © T. Charles Erickson, 2012
Winners of the 2013 CT Critics Circle Awards were presented Monday at a ceremony hosted by Long Wharf Theatre, whose associate artistic director Eric Ting acted as MC.
Broadway's Ashley Brown (Mary Poppins) sang some songs from the upcoming CT theater season accompanied by Don Pardo on piano.

All of the nominations are listed below. Winners are in red. For reviews, click on the title under 2012-2013 Reviews at right.

Outstanding Production of a Play

“Almost, Maine TheaterWorks

”American Night” Yale Rep

ClybournePark Long Wharf

“Marie Antoinette” Yale Rep

“The Dining Room” Westport Country Playhouse

“Twelfth Night” Hartford Stage

Outstanding Production of a Musical

“A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder” Hartford Stage

“Carousel” Goodspeed

“Hairspray” Connecticut Repertory Theatre

”Joseph & the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat” Summer Theatre of New Canaan (STONC)

“Next to Normal Music Theatre of Connecticut (MTC)

“The Immigrant” Seven Angels

Outstanding Director of a Play

Shana Cooper, “American Night” Yale Rep

Gordon Edelstein, “Satchmo at the Waldorf” Long Wharf

Mark Lamos, “The Dining Room” Westport Country Playhouse

Rebecca Taichman, “Marie Antoinette” Yale Rep

Jenn Thompson, “Abundance” Hartford Stage

Eric Ting, “ClybournePark Long Wharf

Darko Tresnjak, “Twelfth Night” Hartford Stage

Outstanding Director of a Musical

Kevin Connors, “Next to Normal MTC

Semina DeLaurentis, “The Immigrant” Seven Angels

Melody Meitrott Libonati, “Joseph . . . ” STONC

Terrence Mann, “The Pirates of Penzance Connecticut Repertory

Rob Ruggiero, “Carousel” Goodspeed

Darko Tresnjak, “A Gentleman’s Guide…” Hartford Stage

Outstanding Leading Actress in a Play

Maureen Anderman,“The Year of Magical Thinking” Westport Country Playhouse

Mary Beth Fisher, “Dear Elizabeth Yale Rep

Roxanna Hope, “Hedda Gabler” Hartford Stage

Marin Ireland, “Marie Antoinette” Yale Rep

Liv Rooth, “Venus in Fur” TheaterWorks

Brenda Withers, “Abundance Hartford Stage

Outstanding Leading Actor in a Play

Mikhail Baryshnikov, “Man in a Case” Hartford Stage

Bill Camp, “In a Year With 13 Moons” Yale Rep

Paul Giamatti, “Hamlet” Yale Rep

Edward Kassar, “Other People’s Money” Ivoryton Playhouse

Jamil A. C. Mangan, “The Mountaintop” TheaterWorks

Rene Millan, “American Night” Yale Rep

John Douglas Thompson,“Satchmo at the Waldorf” Long Wharf

Outstanding Leading Actress in a Musical

Lena Mary Amato, “Hairspray” CT Rep
Corrine C. Broadbent, “Joseph” STONC

Juliet Lampert Pratt, “Next to Normal MTC Mainstage

Teal Wicks, “Carousel” Goodspeed

Outstanding Leading Actor in a Musical

Max Biantz, “The Immigrant” Seven Angels

Christopher DeRosa, “Joseph” STONC

Jefferson Mays, “A Gentleman’s Guide…” Hartford Stage

Kevin Meaney, “Hairspray” CT Rep

James Snyder, “Carousel” Goodspeed

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play

Monica Santana, “In a Year With 13 Moons” Yale Rep

Jeanine Serralles, “Tartuffe” Westport Country Playhouse

Sara Topham, “Hedda Gabler” Hartford Stage
Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play

Jarlath Conroy, “Hamlet” Yale Rep

David Greenspan, “Marie Antoinette” Yale Rep

Adam Green, “Twelfth Night” Hartford Stage

Marc Kudisch, “Hamlet” Yale Rep

Jordan Lage, “Ride the Tiger” Long Wharf

Sam Redford, “Hedda Gabler” Hartford Stage

Kevin Tighe, “Curse of the Starving Class” Long Wharf

Bruce Turk, “Twelfth Night” Hartford Stage

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical

Tessa Faye, “Good News” Goodspeed

Jenn Gambatese, “Carousel” Goodspeed

Beth Glover, “Good News” Goodspeed

Lisa O’Hare, “A Gentleman’s Guide…” Hartford Stage

Hanna Kaplan, “Hairspray” CT Rep

Chilina Kennedy, “A Gentleman’s Guide…” Hartford Stage

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical

Ken Barnett, “A Gentleman’s Guide…” Hartford Stage

Alex Gibson, “Pirates of Penzance CT Rep

Jeff Kready, “Carousel” Goodspeed

Scott Ripley, “Hairspray” CRT

Barry Shafrin, “Good News” Goodspeed

Brett Stoelker, “Next to Normal Seven Angels

Outstanding Ensemble

Marty Bongfeldt, John Flaherty, John Little, Michael McGurk, Jo Anne Parady, “Ancestral Voices” MTC

Jimmy Davis, Daniel Jenkins, Leroy McClain, Alex Muggridge, Lucy Owen, Melle Powers, Alice Ripley, “Clybourne Park Long Wharf

Heidi Armbruster, Chris Henry Coffey, Keira Naughton, Jake Robards, Charles Socarides, Jennifer Van Dyck, “The Dining Room” Westport Country Playhouse

Eric Bryant, Laura Esposito, Lucas Hall, Jess Watkins , “Almost, Maine” Hartford TheaterWorks

Outstanding Debut

Alexis Molnar, “Harbor” Westport Country Playhouse

Nathan J. Russo, “Oliver” Ivoryton Playhouse

Jubilant Sykes, “Breath & Imagination” Hartford Stage

Outstanding Choreography

Parker Esse, “Carousel” Goodspeed

Gerry McIntyre, “Hairspray” CT Rep

Anne-B Parson, “Man in a Case” Hartford Stage

Peggy Hickey, “A Gentleman’s Guide…” Hartford Stage

Vince Pesce, “ Good News” Goodspeed

Doug Shankman, “Joseph” STONC

Outstanding Set Design

Wilson Chin, “Tartuffe” Westport Country Playhouse; “Abundance” Hartford Stage

Alexander Dodge, “A Gentleman’s Guide…” Hartford Stage; “Twelfth Night” Hartford Stage

Riccardo Hernandez, “Marie Antoinette” Yale Rep

Posey Knight, “His Girl Friday” CT Rep

Michael Schweikardt, "Carousel" Goodspeed; "Tryst" TheaterWorks

Michael Yeargan, “The Dining Room” Westport Country Playhouse

David Zinn, “In a Year With 13 Moons” Yale Rep

Outstanding Costume Design

Gabriel Barry, “Marie Antoinette” Yale Rep

Linda Cho, “A Gentleman’s Guide...” Hartford Stage; “Twelfth Night”Hartford Stage

Olivera Gajic, “Pirates of Penzance CT Rep

Ilona Somogyi, “Tartuffe” Westport Country Playhouse

Fabio Toblini, “Hedda Gabler” Hartford Stage

Outstanding Lighting Design

Christopher Akerlind, “Marie Antionette” Yale Rep

Mary Jo Dondlinger, “Almost, Maine” TheaterWorks

John Lasiter, “ Carousel” Goodspeed

Matthew Richards, “Tartuffe” Westport Country Playhouse

Philip Rosenberg, “The Year of Magical Thinking” Westport Country Playhouse; "A Gentleman’s Guide…” Hartford Stage

Jennifer Tipton “Man in a Case” Hartford Stage

Jennifer Tipton and Yi Zhao, “In a Year With 13 Moons” Yale Rep
Outstanding Sound Design

Michael Attias, “In a Year With 13 Moons” Yale Rep

Tei Blow, “Man in a Case” Hartford Stage

Leah Gelpe, “January Joiner” Long Wharf

Matt Hubbs, “Marie Antoinette” Yale Rep

Keri Klick. “Hamlet” Yale Rep 

Tom Killen Award

Aetna New Voices Fellowship program at Hartford Stage     

No comments:

--- A R T S ---

Lauren Yarger with playwright Alfred Uhry at the Mark Twain House. Photo: Jacques Lamarre)

Blog Archive

Copyright Notice

All contents are copyrighted © Lauren Yarger 2009-2016. All rights reserved.