Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Winners of CT Critics Circle Awards Feted at Reception, Ceremony

Carmen de Lavallade. Photo: Mara Lavitt.
The CT Critics Circle presented its awards for outstanding productions and performances during the 2014-2015 season Monday at Iseman Theater at Yale, as part of New Haven's Festival of Arts and Ideas.

A reception at The Study preceded the awards ceremony. R. Bruce Connelly was the emcee for the evening which included musical numbers by David Harris, accompanied by pianist Daniel Moctezuma.  The evening's script was written by Farnk Rizzo, critic and arts writer for the Hartford Courant.

Dancer, actor and teachr Carmen de Lavallade was presented the Tom Killen Award, bestowed upon persons who have made extraordinary contributions to Connecticut's professional theater. Yale Repertory's Artistic Director James Bundy presented the award to de Lavallande and read greetings sent by former student Meryl Streep.

The winners of the awards are:

Outstanding Production of a Play
Hamlet,  Hartford Stage

Outstanding Production of a Musical
Holiday Inn, Goodspeed

Outstanding Actress in a Play
Keilly MacQuail
Bad Jews, Long Wharf

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Zach Appelman
Hamlet, Hartford Stage

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Danielle Bowen
All Shook Up, Ivoryton

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Adam Heller
Fiddler on the Roof, Goodspeed

Outstanding Director of a Play
Darko Tresnjak
Hamlet, Hartford Stage

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Rob Ruggiero
Fiddler on the Roof, Goodpseed

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Edward James Hyland
Hamlet, Hartford Stage
Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Rebekah Brockman
Arcadia, Yale Rep

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Megan Sikora
Kiss Me, Kate, Hartford Stage

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Stephen DeRosa
Sing For Your Shakespeare, Westport Country Playhouse

Outstanding Choreographer
Peggy Hickey
Kiss Me, Kate, Hartford Stage

Outstanding Set Design
Alexander Dodge
Private Lives, Hartford Stage

Outstanding Lighting Design
Tyler Micoleau
Elevada, Yale Rep

Outstanding Costume Design
Alejo Vietti
Holiday Inn, Goodspeed

Outstanding Sound Design
Jane Shaw
Hamlet, Hartford Stage

Outstanding Ensemble
Cast of Picasso at the Lapin Agile
Long Wharf
Penny Balfour
Grayson DeJesus
Tom Riis Farrell
Ronald Guttman
David Margulies
Dina Shihabi
Jake Silberman
Jonathan Spivey
Robbie Tann

Cast of …Spelling Bee
Playhouse on Park
Kevin Barlowski
Hillary Ekwall
Emily Kron
Steven Mooney
Maya Naff
Joel Newsome
Norman Payne
Natalie Sannes
Scott Scaffidi
Outstanding Debut
Carl Lundstedt
Reverberation, Hartford Stage

Special Awards
DramaRamas Program of the Summer Theatre of New Canaan
Shawn Boyle (projection designer) Elevada Yale Rep
Split Knuckle Theatre Company – production of Endurance

Tom Killen Award
Carmen de Lavallade

No comments:

--- A R T S ---

Lauren Yarger with playwright Alfred Uhry at the Mark Twain House. Photo: Jacques Lamarre)

Blog Archive

Copyright Notice

All contents are copyrighted © Lauren Yarger 2009-2016. All rights reserved.