Saturday, June 4, 2016

CT Critics Circle Announces Awards Nominations

Nicole Scimeca and Mary Beth Peil in 
Hartford Stage's Anastasia Photo: Joan Marcus
Hartford Stage's Anastasia, Playhouse on Park's Hair, Goodspeed Musicals' La Cage Aux Folles, Long Wharf Theatre's My Paris and Ivoryton Playhouse's South Pacific are the nominees for outstanding production of a musical at the 26th annual Connecticut Critics Circle Awards, which will be presented 7:30 pm Monday, June 13 at Hartford Stage.

For outstanding production of a play, the nominees are Ayad Akhtar's  Disgraced (Long Wharf Theatre), David Lindsay-Abaire's Good People (TheaterWorks)  Paula Vogel/RebeccaTaichman's Indecent (Yale Repertory Theatre), John Logan's Red (Westport Country Playhouse) and Samuel Beckett's  Happy Days (Yale Repertory Theatre).

The awards recognize outstanding achievements from the state's 2015-2016 professional theater season. The group includes theater critics and writers from the state's print, radio and on-line media.

The awards event, co=sponsored by TheaterWorks and Hartford Stage, is free and open to the public. Winners will be announced at the show which will be hosted by Tina Fabrique, who starred in the musical Ella at  theaters across the country (including TheaterWorks and Hartford Stage) and who currently is appearing in How to Succeed in Business without Really Trying at CT Repertory Theatre

Anne Keefe, stage manager of New Haven's Long Wharf Theatre and on Broadway for more than 25 years and part of the leadership team that saved and transformed the Westport Country Playhouse, is this year's recipient of the Connecticut Critics Circle's Tom Killen Award.

Nominees for outstanding actor in a play: 
R. Ward Duffy for Good People (TheaterWorks)
Conor Hamill for Third (TheaterWorks),
Rajesh Bose for Disgraced (Long Wharf)
Steven Skybell for  Broken Glass (Westport Country Playhouse)
Stephen Rowe for Red (Westport Country Playhouse)

Nominees for outstanding actor in a musical: 
Riley Costello for Peter Pan (Connecticut Repertory Theatre)
Jamison Stern for La Cage Aux Folles (Goodspeed)
Carson Higgins for Memphis (Ivoryton Playhouse)
David Pittsinger for South Pacific (Ivoryton Playhouse)
Bobby Steggert for My Paris (Long Wharf)

Nominees for outstanding actress in a play: 
Erika Rolfsrud for Good People (TheatreWorks)
Brenda Meaney for And a Nightingale Sang (Westport Country Playhouse)
Felicity Jones for Broken Glass (Westport Country Playhouse)
Elizabeth Lande for Wit (Playhouse on Park)
Dianne Wiest for Happy Days (Yale Repertory Theatre)

Nominees for outstanding actress in a musical: 
Adrianne Hick for South Pacific (Ivoryton Playhouse)
Renee Jackson for Memphis (Ivoryton)
 Katerina Papacostas for Evita (Music Theatre of Connecticut)
Rashidra Scott for Anything Goes (Goodspeed Musicals)
Christy Altomare for Anastasia

Rajesh Bose and Nicole Lowrance. Photo: T, Charles Erickson
Nominees for outstanding director of a play: 
Rob Ruggiero for Good People
Rebecca Taichman for Indecent
Gordon Edelstein for Disgraced
Jackson Gay for The Moors (Yale Repertory Theatre) 
Mark Lamos for Red

Nominees for outstanding director of a musical: 
David Edwards for South Pacific
Rob Ruggiero for La Cage Aux Folles,
Sean Harris for Hair
Kathleen Marshall for My Paris 
Darko Tresnjak for Anastasia

Nominees for outstanding ensemble: 
The casts of Hair, Indecent, Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike (Music Theatre of Connecticut), Measure for Measure (Long Wharf Theatre) and Art (Westport Country Playhouse.)

Nominees for outstanding featured actor in a play: 
Richard Kline for And a Nightingale Sang
Benim Foster for Disgraced
Charles Janasz for Romeo and Juliet (Hartford Stage)
Richard Topol for Indecent
Michael Rogers for The Call (TheaterWorks).

Nominees for outstanding featured actor in a musical: 
John Bolton for Anastasia
Teren Carter for Memphis
Christopher DeRosa for Evita
Tom Hewitt for My Paris 
William Selby for South Pacific

Nominees for outstanding featured actress in a play: 
Megan Byrne for Good People
Shirine Babb for Disgraced
Kandis Chappell for Romeo and Juliet
Jodi Stevens for Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike 
Birgit Huppuch for The Moors 

Nominees for outstanding featured actress in a musical: 
Patricia Schumann for South Pacific
Mara Davi for My Paris
Caroline O'Connor for Anastasia
Mary Beth Peil for Anastasia 
Jodi Stevens for Legally Blonde (Summer Theatre of New Canaan)

Nominees for outstanding choreography: 
Darlene Zoller for Hair
Todd Underwood for Memphis
Kathleen Marshall for My Paris
Peggy Hickey for Anastasia 
David Dorfman for Indecent

Nominees for outstanding set design: 
Alexander Dodge for Rear Window (Hartford Stage)
Alexander Dodge for Anastasia
Alexander Woodward for The Moors
Derek McLane for My Paris 
Allen Moyer for Red

Nominees for outstanding lighting design: 
Christopher Akerlind for Indecent
York Kennedy for Rear Window
Donald Holder for My Paris
Donald Holder for Anastasia
Andrew F. Griffin for The Moors.

Nominees for outstanding costume design: 
Michael McDonald for La Cage Aux Folles
Fabian Fidel Aguilar for The Moors
Linda Cho for Anastasia
Paul Tazewell for My Paris

Nominees for oustanding sound design:
Jane Shaw for Rear Window
Darron L. West for Body of an American (Hartford Stage)
David Budries for Red
Brian Ronan for My Paris 
Peter Hylenski for Anastasia

Nominees for outstanding projection design: 
Olivia Sebesky for My Paris
Aaron Rhyne for Anastasia
Alex Basco Koch for The Body of an American 
Rasean Davonte Johnson for Cymbeline (Yale Repertory Theatre)
Sean Nieuwenhuis for Rear Window

Receiving an award for outstanding debut is Mohit Gautam for Disgraced.

Receiving a special award are Lisa Gutkin and Aaron Halva, co-composers and co-music drectors who created the Klezmer music for Yale Rep's world premiere of Indecent.

The general public can RSVP for the awards ceremony at For information on the Connecticut Critics Circle Awards, visit

No comments:

Lauren Yarger with playwright Alfred Uhry at the Mark Twain House. Photo: Jacques Lamarre)
--- A R T S ---

Blog Archive

Copyright Notice

All contents are copyrighted © Lauren Yarger 2009-2016. All rights reserved.