Wednesday, March 23, 2011

HSO 2011-2012 Masterworks Series

The Hartford Symphony Orchestra has announced its 2011-2012 Masterworks Series.

Thursday, October 20, 2011, 7:30pm
Friday & Saturday, October 21 & 22, 2011, 8pm
Sunday, October 23, 2011, 3pm
Belding Theater
Carolyn Kuan, conductor
Behzod Abduraimov, piano
For her dynamic Masterworks premiere, Carolyn Kuan has selected the daring Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 2 (written as a showpiece for Beethoven himself) and the big, brassy Mahler Symphony No. 1 (also known as the “Titan”).

Thursday, November 10, 2011, 7:30pm
Friday & Saturday, November 11 & 12, 2011, 8pm
Sunday, November 13, 2011, 3pm
Belding Theater
Carolyn Kuan, conductor
Singers from Yale Opera, Doris Yarick Cross, artistic director
A special semi-staged production of complete scenes from classic operas – featuring future leading artists from the Yale Opera program at the Yale School of Music.

Thursday, December 1, 2011, 7:30pm
Friday & Saturday, December 2 & 3, 2011, 8pm
Sunday, December 4, 2011, 3pm
Belding TheaterRichard Coffey, guest conductor
Hartford Chorale, Richard Coffey, music director
Soloists to be announced
Richard Coffey describes this festive holiday-themed program as “exuberant, magical, mystical, moving, jubilant, and sometimes raucous,” with selections including Tchaikovsky Nutcracker Suite, Glinka Overture to Russlan and Ludmilla, and Vaughan Williams Hodie.

Thursday, January 5, 2012, 7:30pm
Friday & Saturday, January 6 & 7, 2012, 8pm
Sunday, January 8, 2012, 3pm
Belding TheaterCarolyn Kuan, conductor
Shodekeh, beatboxer
Celebrate the inspirational power that symphonic music holds for all time and all ages. Brahms Symphony No. 1 was composed over a period of 15 years! Beatboxing artist Shodekeh will apply his virtuoso vocal acrobatics to a concerto, Fujiko’s Fairy Tale by Finnish composer Jan Mikael Vainio. And you’ll have the opportunity to choose the opening piece through an online vote!
Thursday, February 9, 2012, 7:30pm
Friday & Saturday, February 10 & 11, 2012, 8pm
Sunday, February 12, 2012, 3pm
Belding TheaterAlexander Mickelthwate conductor
Gilad Karni, viola
Praised throughout the world for his tone and interpretation, Gilad Karni’s technique and musicality have earned him countless honors. He joins the HSO to perform the Penderecki Concerto for Viola, in a concert that also includes Wagner Prelude to Die Meistersinger and Beethoven Symphony No. 5.

Thursday, March 8, 2012, 7:30pm
Friday & Saturday, March 9 & 10, 2012, 8pm
Sunday, March 11, 2012, 3pm
Belding Theater
Carolyn Kuan, conductor
Sirena Huang, violin
HSO’s first Artist In Residence Sirena Huang returns to accompany our new Maestra and the orchestra in interpreting works of the Russian masters, including Mussorgsky Night on Bald Mountain, Shostakovich Symphony No. 9 and Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto.

Thursday, April 12, 2012, 7:30pm
Friday & Saturday, April 13 & 14, 2012, 8pm
Sunday, April 15, 2012, 3pm
Belding Theater
Gerard Schwarz, conductor
Julian Schwarz, cello
Following in the footsteps of the world-renowned Maestro, his 19-year-old son is already outstanding. “My father is the musician that I am always trying to be,” Julian says. “His time and absolute devotion to each piece…it’s eye-opening and intimidating.” Hear their musical legacy come alive on the Dvořák Cello Concerto, Sibelius Symphony No. 2, and more.

Thursday, May 10, 2012, 7:30pm
Friday & Saturday, May 11 & 12, 2012, 8pm
Sunday, May 13, 2012, 3pm
Belding Theater
Carolyn Kuan, conductor
Teo Gheorghiu, pianoIts Russian title means “passionate” or “emotional.” Tchaikovsky wrote, “The ultimate essence ... of the symphony is Life.” Experience the emotional range of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6 Pathétique, along with the jubilant Mozart Piano Concerto No. 20 and the melodious Barber Essay for Orchestra No. 2.

Friday & Saturday, June 1 & 2, 2012, 8pm
Mortensen Hall
Carolyn Kuan, conductor
Leonid Sigal, violin
Hartford Chorale, Richard Coffey, music director
The season will conclude with Orff’s epic cycle. Based on the medieval collection of poems, Carmina Burana forms a scenic and magical cantata of singers, choruses, instruments and images, including its best-known movement, "O Fortuna," that opens and closes the piece. The program will also include Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1 with HSO concertmaster Leonid Sigal.

Ticket Information:
· Subscription prices range from $282.50 to $559.50 per seat, including tickets for all nine concerts (prices include applicable fees)
· A six-concert “pick six” Masterworks subscription is also available upon request
· Current subscribers should renew their subscriptions by April 29 by mail or calling 860.244.2999
· New subscriptions will be available June 6
· Tickets for individual concerts on sale August 15; single ticket prices range from $34.50 to $69.50.

No comments:

Lauren Yarger with playwright Alfred Uhry at the Mark Twain House. Photo: Jacques Lamarre)
--- A R T S ---

Blog Archive

Copyright Notice

All contents are copyrighted © Lauren Yarger 2009-2016. All rights reserved.